On Desire

IMG_5586

I’ve always admired truly athletic people, runners especially. While I didn’t understand the desire to run, I wanted to. I really wanted to get whatever it was in a person that made them say to themselves, I’m going to run a 5K, 10K, half-full-marathon and then do it. My Hubs is one of these people. In fact, his entire family falls into this category. And being all into nutrition, I started feeling an even stronger desire to actually LIKE exercise.

And I tried this thing and that. And while I felt all cool and hip with a yoga mat tucked under my arm, and saying things like “Oh yeah, I had yoga this morning.” I just couldn’t get into it. You know? It seemed like exercise should be natural to me because of the whole health and nutrition thing, but it wasn’t and I really, really wanted it to be.

So, I started -don’t laugh- praying for the desire. I told myself and the Lord at that point I didn’t even need to actually do the exercise, I just needed the desire. I needed to want to.

And then the day came when I wanted to enough to actually try.

So I dusted off an old exercise bike, and made a playlist and then I tried. And hidden away in the dark or my basement where I didn’t have to feel embarrassed because there was absolutely no one watching with the exception of maybe some spiders, I kept at it. I’d pedal and tell myself things like, “I LOVE THIS!” “EXERCISING IS SO AWESOME!” And truthfully these statements were false, but I really wanted them to be true, so I kept saying them and eventually they stuck. And lie became truth.

It was a long process, but I can finally say I like exercise and I recognize that I am a happier person when I make time for the gym. I’ve begun setting goals for myself and then doing them.It is exhilarating and empowering and if I can you can. I promise!

SO, what desire are you going to plant inside of yourself?


Leave a Reply

