Snacking is My Favorite

19775554625_293d8c50e9_m

I don’t do this normally, but if you’re trying to watch what you eat pre-planning, pre-prepping and pre-portioning your snacks can be extremely helpful.

A list of things I really love to snack on.

  • apples
  • bananas
  • oranges
  • grapes
  • avocados
  • peaches
  • pears
  • pineapples
  • pickles (just kidding. I was on a roll with the alliteration thing.)
  • watermelon
  • pretty much any and every fruit
  • carrots
  • broccoli
  • celery sticks (with almond butter! and raisins!)
  • oh! raisins!
  • peas (especially frozen peas)
  • corn
  • corn chips. corn chips and salsa. Mmmmm…
  • tomatoes
  • cucumbers
  • cucumbers and hummus or carrots and hummus or tomatoes and hummus!
  • crackers (remember to read labels.)
  • cheese
  • cheese and crackers
  • olives
  • sauerkraut (ugh. not because I like it, but because it’s super good for me.)
  • I don’t snacking on meat, but my family does
  • hardboiled eggs
  • sunflower seeds
  • pumpkin seeds
  • almonds
  • yogurt (read the labels!!)
  • applesauce
  • granola
  • popcorn

In the case of the raw vegetables eat as much as you’d like. A lot of veggies are considered “negative calorie” foods. It takes your body more energy to eat and process them than they provide. Based on your own body’s needs you’ll want to be a little more aware when it comes to the fruits because of the sugar content. And it’s best practice to stay away from fruit juices since the juice cuts out the fiber which is important for slowing the absorption of sugar into the blood and spiking your blood sugar. Maintaining steady blood sugar levels is really important when it comes to health.

Ultimately though everything is going to be based on your own body’s needs. Be in tune to what those needs are.  For example, I have blood sugar issues, so I can only eat sweet things, like pineapple, if I’ve recently eaten something with a reasonable amount of protein, like egg salad or a piece of chicken.

But my body isn’t your body, so know your own, right?


Leave a comment